Town of Perth


Dating back 200 years, Perth carries a rich military and social history. The town was named after the Scottish town and river, and was established as a military settlement in 1816, shortly after the War of 1812. Many of the…

Read More

Town of Carleton Place


History: The Mississippi The Mississippi was the major artery for the lumber industry. Log drives down the Mississippi ended at the turn of the century old mills have since been converted to condos and high-tech firms. From the 1860s to…

Read More

Township of Drummond/North Elmsley


History: The Township of Drummond/North Elmsley was created in 1998 by the merging of the Townships of Drummond and North Elmsley.  It is located in central Lanark County and has a population of 7,487. It is a mostly rural Municipality…

Read More

Township of Lanark Highlands


Numerous scenic hamlets such as Hopetown, Middleville, Poland, Lavant, Flower Station, Elphin, Watson’s Corners and McDonald’s corners speckle the Highlands. The total population is a quaint 5,128 people. The village of Lanark is the main settlement. Lanark Highlands is home…

Read More

Township of Beckwith


The rural municipality of Beckwith Township is set on the banks of beautiful Mississippi Lake. Settled over 200 years ago, hamlets such as Ashton, Blacks Corners, Franktown and Prospect still exist today. The Beckwith Heritage Days event, heritage schoolhouse route…

Read More

Township of Montague


History: When Montague was surveyed in the 1790’s, it was intended to accommodate Loyalist and post-loyalist settlers, to continue settlement started in the 1780’s by the first Caucasian settler on the Rideau, Roger Stevens. Montague’s proximity to the military settlements…

Read More

Town of Mississippi Mills


Like the river, a strong current of community runs through the town, villages, hamlets and rural areas of the Town of Mississippi Mills. A diverse community of rural and small town interests covering over 500 square kilometres of land within…

Read More

Tay Valley Township


  History: Bathurst, originally part of the District of Bathurst, was settled in 1816 when the first survey of the land was completed. The District severed from the District of Johnstown in 1822. The township of Bathurst was named for…

Read More